2nd International Symposium on Dendrimer in Nano drug delivery was organized on 14th & 15th June 2014 at Auditorium of CSIR‐CDRI by joint efforts of Rameshwaram Institute of Technology and Management and Indian Pharmacy Graduate Association in Collaboration with Research group of Prof N.K. Jain. The inaugural ceremony was graced by the presence of Padamshree Nityanand, Former Director, CSIR‐CDRI as Chief Guest, Prof Antony D'Emanuale, Dean, Dept. of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, Central University of Lancshire, U.K., Prof N.K.Jain, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Dr H. S. Gour University, Sagar, M.P., Dr Arun Garg, General Secretary, IPGA, Delhi, Dr D.S. Yadav, Pro Vice Chancellor, Uttar Pradesh Technical University, Lucknow, Dr. Sandeep Tiwari, Associate Prof King George Medical University, Lucknow and Dr. Pushpendra Kumar Tripathi, Organizing Secretary and President, IPGA, UP. The Two days symposium had 6 Technical Sessions and 4 Poster Sessions followed by Valedictory Session. For the various scientific sessions we had eminent speakers to share their views on dendrimers and nano drug delivery.


National seminar on “Role of Community Pharmacist in Handling of Antibiotics” sponsored by Indian Pharmacy Graduates' Association (IPGA) was organized at Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra on 12th April, 2014. President IPGA, Kurukshetra Local Chapter and National Seminar Organizing Secretary Dr. Dhirender Kaushik welcomed all the guests in seminar and also gave brief introduction about the IPGA and theme of the seminar. Prof. Arun Garg, General Secretary IPGA was the Chief Guest of this event. To grace the event, guests including Prof. A.C. Rana, Director, Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra and Seminar Chairperson, Prof Om Prakash, Vice‐Chancellor, Manav Bharti University, Solan, Mr. Lalit Goel, President IPGA Haryana Branch, Mr. P.P. Sharma, Ex‐Vice President, Pharmacy Council India, New Delhi, Prof. Vijay Bhalla, Director Lloyd School of Pharmacy, Noida were present. The entire event was presided over by Prof. K.C. Ralhan, Registrar, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra.


Two days workshop was organized by Hygia institute of Pharmaceutical Education & Research, Lucknow on 5‐6th of April 2014 in collaboration with IPGA Welfare trust, New Delhi. The theme of the workshop was Alternative to Animal Experimentation in Pharmacy Education. Dr Ramesh Goyal, Distinguished Professor, Institute of Life Sciences, University of Ahmedabad, was the chief Guest to grace the occasion. Dr. Arun Garg, Head, School of Medical sciences, K.R. Mangalam University, -Gurgaon, Dr. Devendra Pathak, Director, RAP Mathura, Dr. C. Nath, Chief scientist, Division of Toxicology, CDRI, Lucknow and Dr. Pushpendra Tripathi, Director, Rameshwaram Institute of Technology & Management, Lucknow were also the speakers at this workshop. The technical session commenced with a lecture by Dr. Ramesh Goyal, Distinguished Professor, University of Ahmedabad, on “Experiences in experimental Pharmacology: in vitro assays as alternative to animal models”. The other speaker Dr. Arun Garg, Dean, K. R. Mangalam University, Gurgaon had delivered a lecture on “Importance of Animals in Biological Research including 3R”. In the post lunch session, there was a Hands on training given to the students on various Simulation experiments in Experimental Pharmacology like Simulation of Pharmacological experiments on guinea pigiIleum prepration, Simulation of pharmacological experiments on Rabbit jejunum preparation, by Talha Jawaid, Head, Dept. of Pharmacology, Hygia Institute of Pharmaceutical Education & Research,Lucknow.


The 65th session of the Indian Pharmaceutical Congress (IPC), the largest congregation of pharmacists and pharma professionals, was held at the sprawling Amity University campus in Noida (Delhi NCR) from December 20 to 22, 2013. The three‐day Congress was held at NCR (National Capital Region) of Delhi after a gap of nearly 5 years, the last being the 60th IPC in the year 2008, where Dr M. Venkateshwarlu, the then Drugs Controller General (India) was the President. The first Congress that was held in New Delhi was in the year 1955 when Dr H.R. Nanji was the president of the 8th IPC.